Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2017

On Thursday I was down in London and luckily had some time to go down to The Photographers Gallery, I’ve only ever visited once before and I’ve been eager to get back again! There’s always such a wide range of work and seeing it gives me ideas for my own work. The exhibition on at the moment is the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation, featuring the work of Sophie Calle, Dana Lixenberg, Awoiska van der Molen and Taiyo Onorato and Nico Krebs who have all be shortlisted for the 2017 prize.

Each project was individually intriguing but I particularly loved Dana Lixenbergs’ Imperial Courts. She “travelled to South Central Los Angeles for a magazine story on the riots that erupted following the verdict in the Rodney King trial. What she encountered inspired her to revisit the area and led her to the community of the Imperial Courts housing project in Watts. Returning countless times over the following twenty-two years Lixenberg gradually created a collaborative portrait of the changing face of this community.” –  (The photographers gallery).

Each photograph is powerful in its own right, especially the portraits and the pairings with the landscape shots. It got me thinking about my own current project and how I want the viewer to feel about my photographs. With Lixenbergs you get a sense of community and it tells a story, but this is a project that has been on going for years, I’ve had not even a year to try and get a similar affect. Luckily I have a lot of archive that I can add in to help build up what the community is like and their traditions.

The edit of the photo book is playful with layout and flows nicely, This was just as inspiring for me as the prints, it gave me ideas for my own edit and gave me the confidence to add more portraiture, as I’d been told that my dummies had too many portraits in, but I feel that I can now build on that and make it work without taking any out.

I also took inspiration from the instillation Eurasia by Taiyo Onorato and Nico Krebs. “EURASIA playfully draws on the iconography of the road trip constructing experiences drawn from memory and  imagination. Onorato and Krebs’ journey begins in Switzerland, continues through the Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Russia, and ends in Mongolia. Throughout their travels the duo encounter landscapes and people in a state of ongoing transition from ancient traditions and post-Communist structures to modernity and the formation of an independent identity. Using a mix of analogue media and techniques including 16mm films, large-format plate cameras and installation-based interventions, Onorato and Krebs compose a narrative that is as much fiction as documentation.” – (The Photographers Gallery).

The liked the idea of using a projector, I’ve never been keen on my exhibition been simple prints on a wall, although this always works I want something different. I think a mixture of my archival and new images will work well with this type of installation.

Leave a Reply

