Instagram features and Interviews

Over the past few weeks, now i’ve finished shooting and sent off for my book to be printed I have started emailing around to try and get my work featured. Several platforms are based purely around students / recent graduates so I thought this would be a good place to start. I emailed PhotoGrad who do photo features, interviews and instagram takeovers with recent graduates, as i’m not yet a graduate they agreed to post one of my images now as a feature and do a full feature once I was a graduate.

I also emailed Fresh Aire, an arts website with an instagram page which also does features. They’re also taking submission for an upcoming exhibition in Leeds for emerging photographers from Yorkshire Universities which I also applied for.

Finally I emailed Pupils Sphere to see about doing not only an instagram feature but also an interview. I was sent a series of questions all relating to my project or asking to give advice to students about my experiences which is now up on their website. To take a look at my interview and all the other amazing photographers featured go to https://pupilsphere.squarespace.com/home/an-interview-with-natasha-ullah

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 14.09.21Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 14.09.34

Going through such simple steps such as sending a quick email has really helped get my work out to more people, i’ve had new followers on my instagram and positive feedback on my work. Doing the interview especially helped me as it raised questions about my project that i’d never thought about before. I think it’s important to try and get your work on platforms such as instagram as social media is such a useful tool, It’s also made me feel a lot more confident in my project as people wanted to showcase my work onto their pages / websites.

This is definitely soemthing I will continue to do, and hopefully other oppertunities with arise from it.

Leave a comment